| Forums | Register | Polls | Search | Statistics |
 (?)  
You must be logged in to post content on this forum.
Display Calibration Light Illusion Forums / Display Calibration /  

Issues working with QLED TV

Author Lentash
ZRO
#1 | Posted: 22 Feb 2020 02:03 
Greetings,
I am new to calibration (just tinkering and learning currently). I'm using ZRO with a windows laptop connected via hdmi and a Colormunki Display. I have been able to test a 2010 plasma tv and a Quick Test looks pretty accurate. However when doing the test on a 2019 Samsung QLED tv it is all over the place. Does anyone have any experience using Lightspace with a qled tv?

Thanks for your time.

Author Steve

INF
Male
#2 | Posted: 22 Feb 2020 03:25 
We would need to see what you mean by 'all over the place'.
The profiling report for example.

But, we really do not recommend the Colormunki, as it is not really viable for display calibration.
The i1Display Pro is the minimum we would recommend.

However, that is not likely to be the issue. It would just be 'less accurate', rather than give really bad results.
It is more likely the display settings are not correct for pre-calibration setup.
Have you read the 'Pre-Calibration Setup' user guide on this website?

Steve
Steve Shaw
Mob Boss at Light Illusion

Author Lentash
ZRO
#3 | Posted: 22 Feb 2020 04:09 
Hi Steve!
Yeh I am just learning right now to see if I get it and like it, if so I'll get a better probe and license the software. Just don't want to spend a lot of money upfront and then end up abandoning it like learning Spanish lol

I've gone through the Idiot's guide (including the pre-calibration). It's a great article. But unless I've overlooked something i'm still not sure why the quick profile looks as bad as it does.

- Connected laptop via hdmi and set output in intel display properties to Full Range
- Extended display to TV, and changed the black level from Auto to Low.